Honey Barbeque Meatloaf

Food 2013 009

Yes, this is another Pinterest recipe.  I have been obsessed with Pinterest lately.  With my current state of insomnia late at night I am often looking for new recipes to try.

This one seemed to contain everything my family loves – sweet and comforting.  I started with this recipe for Honey Barbeque Meatloaf from Can You Stay for Dinner?  I of course changed it to suit what I had on hand in my pantry.

Ingredients:

2  lb 90% lean ground beef

3 slices white bread, ground to crumbs

5 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

2 tablespoon spicy brown mustard

1 1/2 cups honey barbecue sauce, divided – I used Sweet Baby Ray’s Honey

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Toss white bread in your food processor and grind it into crumbs.
  3. In a large bowl, use your hands to mix together the ground beef, fresh bread crumbs,  5 TBSP Worcestershire sauce, the spicy brown mustard, 1/2 cup of the barbecue sauce, salt, and black pepper.
  4. Shape the mixture into a long, thick log and place on a sprayed baking dish.  I also lined mine with aluminum foil.
  5. In a small bowl, whisk together the remaining 1/4 cup barbecue sauce, 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce. Spread half of this mixture evenly all over the meatloaf. Reserve the other half for serving.
  6. Bake for 45 minutes. Slice and drizzle with reserved honey barbecue sauce.

I served this with baked sweet potatoes with butter and brown sugar.   BIG mistake.  This meal was so sickeningly sweet that it made your teeth ache.

I may try this recipe again with a different BBQ sauce.  But, I have so many other great meatloaf recipes that we prefer I probably won’t be trying this again for a long time.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Very nice! There allot of ways to do a meat loaf, but this one looks pretty good!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.